Press Release

The Computer History Museum Announces its 2009 Fellow Award Honorees

Mountain View, California  |  June 15, 2009

The Computer History Museum (CHM) today announced its 2009 selection of Fellow Award honorees: Robert R. Everett, Don Chamberlin, and the team of Federico Faggin, Marcian Edward “Ted” Hoff, Stanley Mazor and Masatoshi Shima. The 2009 Fellows will be inducted into the Museum’s Hall of Fellows on Oct. 20, 2009 at a formal Gala Ceremony where technology industry leaders and supporters will gather to celebrate the Fellows’ accomplishments and their impact on modern day life.

The Fellow Awards are an extension of the Computer History Museum’s overarching vision to explore the computing revolution and its worldwide impact on the human experience. The tradition began with CHM’s first Fellow, Grace Murray Hopper, inventor of the compiler, and has grown to a distinguished and select group of 47 members. This award represents the highest achievement in computing, honoring the people who have forever changed the world with their innovations.

“The goal of the Fellows program is to annually recognize select individuals of outstanding merit who have significantly contributed to the field of computing,” said John Hollar, CHM’s President and CEO. “The Museum’s Fellows are a distinguished and special group. It’s an honor to bring together industry executives, the people who are currently building the future, to honor and celebrate those who contributed so significantly in the past.”

The 2009 Fellows are:
- Robert R. Everett: For his work on the MIT Whirlwind and SAGE computer systems and a lifetime of directing advanced research and development projects.
- Don Chamberlin: For his fundamental work on Structured Query Language (SQL) and database architectures.
- The Team of Federico Faggin, Marcian Edward “Ted” Hoff, Stanley Mazor, Masatoshi Shima: For their work on the Intel 4004, the world’s first commercial microprocessor.

The Museum will host the annual Gala Ceremony in honor of the achievements of the 2009 Fellows whose creativity, persistence, vision, and global influence in the field of computing have helped reshape our everyday lives. The Fellows candidates were nominated by the public and selected by an esteemed panel including CHM executives, technology historians, industry leaders and executives, led by Board of Trustees Member Ike Nassi, Executive Vice President, SAP.  
For more information on the 2009 Fellow Awards, please visit:

About the Computer History Museum

The Computer History Museum (CHM), in Mountain View, Calif., is a nonprofit organization with a four-decade history. The Museum is dedicated to the preservation and celebration of computer history, and is home to the largest international collection of computing artifacts in the world, encompassing computer hardware, software, documentation, ephemera, photographs and moving images.

CHM brings computer history to life through an acclaimed speaker series, dynamic website, onsite tours, as well as physical and online exhibits. Current exhibits include “Charles Babbage’s Difference Engine No. 2,” “Mastering the Game: A History of Computer Chess,” “Innovation in the Valley” – a look at Silicon Valley startups – and the unique “Visible Storage Gallery,” featuring over 600 key objects from the collection.

The signature “Computer History: The First 2,000 Years” exhibit will open in late 2010.

For more information, visit or call (650) 810-1010.

Press Contacts

PR Team 
(650) 810-1059


FacebookTwitterCopy Link